CMMI certifications: A complete guide

The Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) helps organizations streamline process improvement and encourage behaviors that decrease risks in software, product, and service development. The model provides businesses with a framework for developing better products and services, starting with a series of appraisals of process and service development, service establishment and management, and product and service acquisition. The CMMI was updated to V2.0 in 2018, with a greater focus on improving business performance, building agile resiliency and scale, increasing the value of benchmarking and accelerating adoption.

Professionals seeking to improve their organization’s development processes — and their careers — should consider pursuing CMMI certification. Certifications are offered directly through the CMMI Institute, which certifies individuals, appraisers, instructors, and practitioners.  

Following is a guide to all the CMMI certifications you can earn and the courses you’ll need to complete to qualify for the exams.   

CMMI Associate

The CMMI Associate Certification demonstrates your commitment to capability and performance improvement, which can help you stand out among other candidates in your field.

The certification validates that you understand and can use the CMMI model as a tool for improving performance, that you know how to connect the CMMI model to business value, and that you have the skills to participate as an Appraisal Team Member (ATM). Certification is valid for three years and you will need to retake the Associate Exam each time to recertify.

Prerequisites: Complete the Foundations of Capability training course (see below) or an upgrade training program for those who have completed the CMMI V1.3 certification and are transitioning to the CMMI V2.0 (see below).

Copyright © 2021 IDG Communications, Inc.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here