[WATCH] Jasprit Bumrah Left Hanging as Umpire 'Ignores' His Handshake Twice After India Beats England

0

Jasprit Bumrah took two wickets as India defeated defending champions England by 68 runs in Guyana on Thursday, securing a spot in the T20 World Cup final against South Africa. The match ended dramatically with Bumrah left hanging after his second wicket.

After trapping Jofra Archer LBW with an in-swinging yorker, the Indian team began celebrating, shaking hands as the English batter opted for the DRS.

 Bumrah approached the umpire for a handshake, but instead received his cap back. When he tried again, he was ignored.

Jasprit Bumrah's Handshake Ignored By Umpire? Awkward Moment Goes Viral.  Watch | Cricket News

Once the third umpire confirmed the dismissal, the players left the field. It remains uncertain if Bumrah eventually got his handshake as the cameras zoomed away.

Watch the video here:

England, who defeated India by 10 wickets in the 2022 semi-finals, collapsed to 103 all out while chasing 172 for victory. Spinners Kuldeep Yadav (3-19) and Axar Patel (3-23) shared six wickets between them.

Earlier, India posted 171-7 in a rain-interrupted innings after losing the toss, with captain Rohit Sharma scoring 57 — his third fifty of the tournament — and Suryakumar Yadav adding 47.

Rohit Sharma expressed his happiness after the win, saying: “Very satisfying to win this game. We worked really hard as a unit. To win this game like that was a great effort from everyone. We adapted to the conditions really well. It was a challenge and we adapted. We played the conditions really well.”

South Africa defeated Afghanistan by nine wickets in the first semi-final on Wednesday, earning their place in Saturday’s final in Barbados. Both India and South Africa are unbeaten in the tournament.

India aims to win their first major title since the 2013 Champions Trophy, having lost to Australia in the final of last year’s 50-over World Cup.